Need help with a non-urgent medical or admin request? Contact us online.

Clinical Commissioning Group

Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) commission most of the Hospital and community NHS services in the local areas for which they are responsible.

Commissioning involves deciding what services are needed for diverse local populations, and ensuring that they are provided.

CCGs are assured by NHS England, which retains responsibility for commissioning primary care services such as GP and Dental services, as well as some specialised Hospital services. Many GP services are now co-commissioned with CCGs.

All GP practices now belong to a CCG, but CCGs also include other Health Professionals, such as nurses.

Services CCGs commission include:

  • most planned Hospital care
  • rehabilitative care
  • urgent and emergency care (including out-of-hours)
  • most community health services
  • mental health and learning disability services

Herts Valley Clinical Commissioning Group

In west Hertfordshire – the boroughs of Hertsmere, Dacorum, St Albans, Three Rivers and Watford – all 70 GP practices have got together to form a Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) called NHS Herts Valleys CCG, Annandale Medical Centre is part of this group

The role of clinical commissioning groups is to buy and plan high quality health services on behalf of the people who live in this area.

For more information visit their website: NHS Herts Valleys Clinical Commissioning Group